Key Note Speaker: Dr. Madni

Asad img crop 300dpi.jpgDr. Asad M. Madni served as President, Chief Operating Officer & CTO of BEI Technologies Inc. headquartered in California, from 1992 until his retirement in 2006. He led the development and commercialization of intelligent sensors and systems for aerospace, military, commercial and transportation industries, including the Extremely Slow Motion Servo Control System for Hubble Space Telescope’s Star Selector System which provided the Hubble with unprecedented accuracy and stability, resulting in truly remarkable images that have enhanced our understanding of the universe; and the revolutionary MEMS GyroChip® technology which is used worldwide for Electronic Stability Control and Rollover Protection in passenger vehicles, thereby saving millions of lives every year.

Prior to joining BEI he was  with  Systron  Donner  Corporation for  18 years in  senior technical  &  executive positions, eventually as Chairman, President  & CEO. Here, he made seminal and pioneering  contributions  in the  development of  RF  &  Microwave  Systems & Instrumentation which significantly enhanced the Combat Readiness of the US Navy (and its allies) and which provided the DOD the ability (not possible with prior art) to simulate more threat  representative  ECM  environments  for current and future advanced warfare training. Dr. Madni is currently an Independent Consultant; Distinguished Adjunct Professor and Distinguished Scientist of Electrical Engineering at UCLA; and Executive Managing Director & Chief Technical Officer of Crocker  Capital, a San Francisco based private venture firm specializing in emerging technologies.

 He received an A.A.S. from RCA Institutes Inc., B.S. & M.S.  from University of California Los Angeles (UCLA), Ph.D. from California Coast University (CCU), S.E. from MIT Sloan School of Management, D.Sc. (honoris causa) from Ryerson University, D.Eng. (honoris causa) from Technical University of Crete, Sc.D. (honoris causa) from California State University and California State University Northridge (CSUN), and Ph.D. (honoris causa) from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (The National University of Malaysia) and from National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan. He is also a graduate of the Engineering Management Program at the California Institute of Technology, the Executive Institute and Director's College at Stanford University, and the Program on Negotiation for Senior Executives at Harvard University. Dr. Madni is an internationally recognized authority with over 40 years of experience in "intelligent" sensors, system and instrumentation  design and signal processing. He is credited with over 170 refereed publications in archival journals, conference proceedings and book chapters; over 100 research reports & internal publications; over 100 keynote addresses, invited lectures, chairs and panels; and 69 issued or pending patents resulting in numerous "industry firsts".

 Dr. Madni has served as a director on the board of 7 highly successful technology companies and on advisory boards of several professional and academic organizations. He is currently serving as Distinguished College  Professor at TCI College of Technology (the first such appointment in the history of the Institute since its founding in 1909 by Nobel Laureate Guglielmo Marconi), Adjunct Professor in the Computer Science Department at Ryerson University; and on advisory boards at UCLA, USC, CSUN, UTSA, TCI, IEEE Systems Journal, AutoSoft Journal, and as Honorary Editor of the International Journal on Smart Sensing & Intelligent Systems.

Dr. Madni is also the recipient of numerous national and international awards and honors including, the 2016 Ellis Island Medal of Honor, 2016 Dean's Faculty Award for Service from the University of Southern California Viterbi School of Engineering, 2016 IEEE San Fernando Valley Section Award for Visionary Leadership and Innovations, 2015 IET J. J. Thomson Medal (IET Prestige Medal),  2015 IEEE HKN Eminent Member Recognition, 2014 Tau Beta Pi Distinguished Alumnus Award, 2014 World Automation Congress (WAC) Medal of Honor, 2014 NAE Einstein Society Award, 2013 (inaugural) UCLA Electrical Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award, 2013 UCLA Electrical Engineering Distinguished Service Award, 2012 IEEE Aerospace and Electronics Systems Society's Pioneer Award (the society's highest honor), 2010 IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society's Career Excellence Award (the society's highest honor),  2010 UCLA Engineering Lifetime Contribution Award, TCI College of Technology's Marconi Medal (the Institute’s highest honor) and Citation of Honor, 2008 IEEE Region 6 Outstanding Engineer Award, 2008 IEEE Region 6 South Outstanding Engineer and Outstanding Leadership & Professional Service Awards, 2008 UCLA Engineering Distinguished Service Award, 2006 WAC Lifetime Achievement Award, 2005 IEE Achievement Medal, 2004 UCLA Engineering Alumnus of the Year Award (highest honor granted by the school), 2004 Distinguished Engineering Achievement Award from the Engineers’ Council, 2003 George Washington Engineer of the Year Award from the Los Angeles Council of Engineers & Scientists, 2002 UCLA Professional Achievement Award Medal, 2002 Sensors Expo's Silver Award, 2001 Product Design and Development's Top 50 Innovations Award, IEEE Third Millennium Medal, Joseph F. Engelberger Best Paper Award at the 2000 World Automation Congress, CCU Distinguished Alumni Award (highest honor granted by the university), Association of Old Crows Gold Certificate of Merit, and is listed in all major Who’s Who publications including Who’s Who in America, Who's Who in the World, Who's Who in Science & Engineering, Who's Who in Technology, Who's Who in Finance & Industry, International Who's Who of Intellectuals, 2000 Outstanding Intellectuals of the 20th & 21st Centuries, Outstanding People of the 21st Century, and Asia Men and Women of Achievement. He has also been a featured guest on numerous television shows including CNN with Casey Wyan and BizNews 1 (now CNBC) with Mike Russell. In 2011 he was elected to the US National Academy of Engineering "for contributions to development and commercialization of sensors and systems for aerospace and automotive safety".

 He is a Chartered Engineer, Life Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, Life Fellow of the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, Fellow of the Institution of Electrical Engineers (UK), Fellow of the Institution of Engineering & Technology (UK), Life Fellow of the Institute for the Advancement of Engineering, Fellow of the New York Academy of Sciences, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers, Lifetime Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics, and Life Fellow of the International Biographical Association. He is also an Eminent Engineer of Tau Beta Pi, The National Engineering Honor Society; Honorary Member of Upsilon Pi Epsilon, Honor Society for the Computing and Information Disciplines; Honorary Member of Phi Kappa Phi, Interdisciplinary Honor Society; Member of Eta Kappa Nu, The Electrical and Computer Engineering Honor Society; Member of Tau Alpha Pi, The National Engineering Technology Honor Society; Member of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society; Member of Delta Epsilon Tau, International Honor Society; Life Member of the Association of Old Crows; Member of the Internet Society and Member of the Order of the Engineer. He has also been awarded Honorary Professorships at Technical University of Crete, University of Waikato and University of Texas San Antonio.